Skip to main content
Travel Safety and Wellness
Country Risk Ratings


Overall Country Risk Rating

Travel Health Low Risk

Affected Areas: Entire country except Travel Restriction areas


Travel Restriction

Affected Areas: The state of Jammu and Kashmir (except the eastern Ladakh region and its capital, Leh); within 10 km of the India-Pakistan border; states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Manipur; States with Naxalite activity including areas from eastern Maharashtra and northern Telangana through western West Bengal, particularly in rural parts of Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand and on the borders of Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, and Odisha

Last Updated: May 22, 2023

Eligibility & Requirements

India currently has a Travel Health Low Risk rating, with specific regions having a U-M Regional Travel Restriction risk rating.

  1. Determine whether the cities or locations you visit are within a Travel Health Low Risk area or within a Regional Travel Restriction area.
  2. For cities or locations within a Travel Health Low Risk area:
  1. For cities or locations within a Travel Restriction area:

*Note: If your travel itinerary includes locations/cities that are Travel Health Low Risk locations and Regional Travel Restriction locations, you only need to submit one (1) safety plan. If your travel itinerary only includes locations / cities that are Travel Health Low Risk locations and you are not traveling to a Travel Restriction area, then no plan is needed. 

Country Information Resources