Skip to main content
International Committees
Council on Global Engagement
Council on Global Engagement Membership

Council on Global Engagement Membership

Working to increase coordination and administrative efficiencies, the Council on Global Engagement aims to expand education abroad participation among the U-M community. The members of the Council on Global Engagement are nominated by their respective Deans and Directors and appointed by the Provost’s Office.

The 2023-2025 chair of the Council is Jessica Oldford, Managing Director, Global Initiatives, Ross School of Business,


Last updated: November 6, 2023

Art & Design

Sandra Wiley, Director of International Study Programs

Architecture & Urban Planning

Cynthia Radecki, Assistant Dean for Advancement Planning
Anya Sirota, Associate Dean for Academic Initiatives


Jessica Oldford, Managing Director, Global Initiatives (Council Chair)
Cindy Schipani, Professor of Business Law


Carlos Gonzalez, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor
Margherita Fontana, Professor, Director of Global Initiatives


Michelle Bellino, Associate Professor of Education
Melinda Richardson, Managing Director of the Center for the Study of Higher & Postsecondary Education


Aline Cotel, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Miranda Roberts, Director of International Programs

Environment & Sustainability

Michaela Zint, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor
Kim Elliott, Assistant Dean

General Counsel

David Grimm, Associate General Counsel
Shirley Gallegos, Associate General Counsel


Kelly Kowatch, Director of Engaged Learning Office


Pete Bodary, Clinical Assistant Professor of Kinesiology
Vanessa Barton, Global Engagement Coordinator/Academic Advisor


Eric Christiansen, Assistant Dean for International Affairs
Susan Page, Professor, Public Policy and Law

Literature, Science, and the Arts

International Institute
Rachel Brichta, Interim Chief Administrator and Managing Director, International Institute
Mary Gallagher, Director, International Institute, and Professor of Political Science

Center for Global and Intercultural Study
Michael Jordan, Director, Center for Global and Intercultural Study
Pardip Bolina, Associate Director, Center for Global and Intercultural Study

English Language Institute
Angelo Pitillo, Director, English Language Institute

Jim Penner-Hahn, Director of International Academic Programs and Partnerships


Tania Piotrowski, Administrative Director, Healthcare
Amy Huang, Director of Asia Programs

Music, Theater, and Dance

Christi-Anne Castro, Associate Professor & Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Ben Thauland, Assistant Director of Student Affairs


Jody Lori, Associate Dean for Global Affairs and Professor of Nursing
Beste Erel Windes, Academic Program Manager


Donna Pikula, Assistant Director for Experiential Education and Community Engagement
Steve Schwendeman, Professor and Chair of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Provost’s Office

Amy Carey, Assistant Vice Provost for International Engagement
Heidi Doyle, IT Project Manager
Cindy Kerschbaum, Technical Coordinator
Patrick Morgan, Chief International Travel Safety Officer
Janelle Pangilinan, Global Engagement Project Manager
Ayesha Usmani, International Travel Safety Manager
Wyatt Boykin, International Travel Safety Coordinator

Public Health

Amy Sarigiannis, Director of International Relations 
Kiran Szekeres, Director of Student Development and Programs

Public Policy

Dan Ellis, Global Engagement Program Manager


Emily Swafford, Assistant Dean, Rackham Graduate School
Zana Kwaiser, Program Officer for Dean’s Office

Social Work

Greta Kaempf, Global Opportunities Coordinator
Katie Lopez, Director, Office of Global Activities

Student Life

International Center
Kelly Nelson, Assistant Director, International Center
Judith Pennywell, Director, International Center

Dean of Students
Sarah Daniels, Associate Dean of Students

Enrollment Management

Cindy Gould, International Admissions and Recruiting Coordinator Management
Monet Tiedemann, Financial Aid Assistant Director

University Audits

Asel Solovyeva, Associate Director, Internal Audit

University Health Services

Laurie Burchett, Managed Care/Student Insurance Manager

University Libraries

Laurie Alexander, Associate University Librarian for Learning & Teaching 
Liangyu Fu, Director, Asia Library

U-M Flint

Zachariah Mathew, Director, Center for Global Engagement, and Senior International Officer

U-M Dearborn

Francisco Javier López, Director of International Affairs
Scott Riggs, Director of Global Engagement

Vice President Communications

Fernanda Pires, Senior Public Relations Representative