Skip to main content
Travel Safety and Wellness
Country Risk Ratings


Overall Country Risk Rating

Travel Warning

Affected Areas: Entire country except Travel Restriction areas


Travel Restriction

Affected Areas: Kenya-Somalia border counties (Mandera, Wajir, Garissa); Some coastal areas (Tana River county, Lamu County, Areas of Kilifi County north of Malindi ); Areas of Turkana County (Road from Kainuk to Lodwar)

Last Updated: June 14, 2024

Eligibility & Requirements

Kenya currently has a Travel Warning risk rating, with specific regions having a Regional Travel Restriction risk rating.

  1. Determine whether the cities or locations you visit are within a Travel Warning area or within a Regional Travel Restriction area.
  2. For cities or locations within a Travel Warning area:
  1. For cities or locations within a Travel Restriction area:

Country Information Resources